Hindu Vivek Kendra
«« Back
Most IM men from Azamgarh

Most IM men from Azamgarh

Author: Rahi Gaikwad
Publication: The Hindu
Date: February 18, 2009
URL: http://www.thehindu.com/2009/02/18/stories/2009021859901200.htm

A sizeable number of the 21 Indian Mujahideen men, accused in cases of various blasts in the country and against whom a charge sheet was filed by the Mumbai Crime Branch here in a court on Tuesday, belong to Azamgarh in Uttar Pradesh.

Most of them have are well-qualified professionals. As reflected in the mails, the alleged cause of the terror unleashed refers back to the 2002 pogrom in Gujarat.

The accused have been charged under sections 3 (1) (ii) for offence invoking punishment for not less than five years; 3 (2) for conspiring and abetting an offence; and 3 (4) relating to punishment for being part of an organised crime syndicate, of the Maharashtra Control of Organised Crime Act (MCOCA) 1999.

Sections 295 (A) (damaging a place of worship with intent to insult the religion of any class), 505 (2) (statements conducing public mischief), 507 and 506 (II) (relating to criminal intimidation), 120 (B) (criminal conspiracy), 121 (waging war against the country), 122 (collecting arms for waging war) and 286 (negligent conduct with respect to explosive substances) of the Indian Penal Code have been applied.

Charges under the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act 1967 the Information Technology Act 2000, and the Arms Act have been slapped.

While the Mumbai police had earlier mentioned the IM's role in the Mumbai serial train blasts, the charge sheet does not list the Mumbai incident.

The accused named in the charge sheet are: Afzal Mutalib Usmani (32), Mohammed Sadique Shaikh (31), Mohammed Arif Shaikh (38), Mohammed Jakir Shaikh (28), Mohammed Ansar Shaikh Asif Bashir Shaikh (22), Mohamed Mansoor Asgar Peerbhoy (31), Mubin Kadar Shaikh alias Salman (24), Mohamed Atiq Mohamed Iqbal alias Musab (25), Mohamed Akbar Chaudhari alias Saeed (28), Anik Shafiq alias Khalid (27), Majid Akhtar Shaikh alias Nazim (26), Yasir Anis Sayyad alias Hujefa (20), Farooq Sharfuddin Tarqas alias Abdulla (25), Mohammad Ali (44), Javed Ali (19), Ahmed Bawa (33), Mohamed Naushad Sayyad (25), Dustgir Feroz Muzawar alias Afroz alias Munjeeb (25), and Fazal Rehman Durani (23) alias Sallauddin Anwar Abdul Bagwan.

Back                          Top

«« Back
  Search Articles
  Special Annoucements