Hindu Vivek Kendra
«« Back

On this day, 37 years ago, 'the world's largest party' - the BJP - was founded

Publication: The Time of India
Date: April 6, 2017
URL:    http://m.timesofindia.com/india/on-this-day-37-years-ago-the-worlds-largest-party-the-bjp-was-founded/articleshow/58040496.cms

On today's date 37 years ago, the BJP - which has become "the world largest party" - was founded with former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee at the helm as party president.

Today, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP president Amit Shah wished their colleagues on the occasion of the formation of the BJP on April 6, 1980. Since early today, top BJP leaders have been congregating at the party's headquarters in New Delhi to celebrate the BJP's formation.

Narendra Modi ✔ @narendramodi
On the Sthapana Diwas of @BJP4India, I congratulate the entire family of BJP Karyakartas working across the length and breadth of India.
8:01 AM - 6 Apr 2017

Narendra Modi  @narendramodi
We recall with pride the hardwork of generations of BJP Karyakartas who built the Party brick by brick with the endeavour to serve society.
8:02 AM - 6 Apr 2017

Narendra Modi  @narendramodi
It is a matter of pride that people across India & across all sections of society have placed their trust in BJP. Gratitude to the people.
8:03 AM - 6 Apr 2017

Narendra Modi  @narendramodi
Guided by the Mantra of Antyodaya, our efforts to serve India especially the poor & the marginalised continue with great vigour.
8:07 AM - 6 Apr 2017


Today, the BJP, which was elected to power at the centre in 2014, is in power (including in four with allies) in 17 states. Since 1980, it's built up its primary membership to 12 million, the BJP says.

Aside from Vajpayee and Shah, the party's presidents have been LK Advani, Murli Manohar Joshi, Rajnath Singh and Venkaiah Naidu.


Amit Shah  @AmitShah
भारतीय जनता पार्टी की विचारधारा, सुशासन एवं विकासनीति में निरंतर विश्वास प्रकट करने के लिए देश की जनता का हृदय से अभिनंदन ।
7:28 AM - 6 Apr 2017


On its website, the BJP calls itself "the most prominent member of the family of organisations known as the 'Sangh Parivar' and nurtured by the Rashtriya Swyamsevak Sangh (RSS)".

The BJP emerged from Jana Sangh, which was formed in 1951 by Shyama Prasad Mookerjee. The Jana Sangh merged with some other parties to form the Janata Party in 1977, after the Emergency imposed by then Congress Prime Minister Indira Gandhi.

The Janata Party dissolved in 1980 and its members formed the BJP with Vajpayee as its first president.
«« Back
  Search Articles
  Special Annoucements