Hindu Vivek Kendra
«« Back

Nehru Memorial ‘Modi-fied’ as Congress leaders Mallikarjun Kharge, Jairam Ramesh, Karan Singh removed from panel

Author: OpIndia Staff
Publication: Opindia.com
Date: November 6, 2019
URL:      https://www.opindia.com/2019/11/nehru-memorial-congress-leaders-removed/amp/?__twitter_impression=true

The Central government on Tuesday reconstituted the Nehru Memorial Museum and Library (NMML) and removed senior Congress leaders Mallikarjun Kharge, Jairam Ramesh and Karan Singh from the panel. Senior journalist Rajat Sharma and poet, lyricist and adman Prasoon Joshi were inducted in the society.

Prime Minister Modi is the president of the society and Defence Minister Rajnath Singh is the vice-president. Along with them, union ministers Amit Shah, Nirmala Sitharaman, Ramesh Pokhriyal, Prakash Javadekar, V Muraleedharan and Prahlad Singh Patel, ICCR chairman Vinay Sahsrabudhhe, Prasar Bharti chairman A Surya Prakash, secretaries of Expenditure, Culture and Housing and Urban Affairs, are its members.

The members are appointed for a period of five years or until next order, whichever comes first. Last year in November, journalist Arnab Goswami had replaced Pratap Bhanu Mehta at NMML. 3 other members, economist Nitin Desai, professor Udayan Mishra and former bureaucrat BP Singh, were also replaced along with Mehta who had opposed the Centre’s proposal of honouring all past prime ministers at the Teen Murti Estate.

In September 2018, the Sonia Gandhi led Jawaharlal Nehru Memorial Fund was asked to vacate the Teen Murti Complex. The ministry of housing and urban affairs had stated in its letter that the JNMF is occupying the premises without any authority of law and the NMML needs the space.
«« Back
  Search Articles
  Special Annoucements